Ross Marathon History


The Ross Marathons started in 2004 as the “Festival of Marathons”, a series of athletic events aimed at fostering community participation in physical activity and the enjoyment of a healthy lifestyle.

The marathon was dedicated to the memory of US born athlete Dean Thackwray who competed in the marathon at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics and later settled in Tasmania. Thackwray died of cancer in 2003.

That first year 70 runners took part in the various events that over the years have included the full, three-quarter, half and quarter marathons, a team relay event and a fun run/walk.

Today the event attracts many participants from Tasmania, mainland Australia and Overseas. It is gaining a reputation as a must do event for many marathon runners and is renowned for the picturesque countryside in which it is run and the challenge it presents.


Current Record Holders


Marathon: Josh Harris (2015) – 2.33.02
Half Marathon: Andrew Allison (2010) – 1.12.34
10km: Douglas Hamerlock (2010): 34.07


Marathon: Holly Claridge (2011) – 3.05.13
Half Marathon: Jenny Gillard (2009) – 1.26.05
10km: Jenny Gillard (2011) – 38.27